Five Inch Needle

th-1This country is driving me crazy. I can’t see beauty without pain. The laughter of dozens of kids gathered for camp has become a five inch needle thrust into my heart.  I see someone with an agenda and a semi-automatic weapon parking and walking towards the lake where the children are gathered. I wonder what the gunman is thinking. Glory? Fame? Maybe he’s schizophrenic like the killer at Sandy Hook whose motives will never be known. Maybe he’s a gay ISIS wannabee out to prove his masculinity. It doesn’t matter what skin he’s wearing, his soul is the NRA. The heart that keeps his blood flowing is a congressmen who does nothing. The feet that propel him towards innocent lives, closer and closer are people who carry on about the 2nd Amendment.  I wish I could cover them all with the blood of the innocents.

Even if the gun is a fishing pole and the man peacefully passes the children I see the mutilated body of someone’s beloved child.  I see the lake turning red as blood passes backpacks filled with lunch and love notes toward the water.  I hear screams instead of laughter, chaos instead of tranquility, I see children hiding behind the silver canoes instead of rowing across the lake; pleading for their mothers instead of singing The Cat Came Back.  I see the helpless park rangers  frantically calling 911 unable to articulate what was happening because who could imagine?  Who could imagine anyone wanting to shoot children at a summer camp?  Who could imagine anyone wanting to shoot worshippers at prayer?  Who could imagine anyone wanting to shoot up a Christmas party?

Then I feel the pain of a thousand parents, siblings, uncles, aunts and cousins as they all wonder why and the only answer that keeps echoing back is greed and stupidity.

So lock me away from the beauty in the world.  I can no longer see it. 

13 thoughts on “Five Inch Needle

  1. Hard to say “like” on this one, Jan, but great post. I’m glad I’m not the only one looking at joyful scenes and imagining them being destroyed by terrorists. The world really has gone insane.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think this is the best piece you have written for Tin Hats. It deserves to be reblogged and I hope other bloggers do so. I often wonder what H.S. Thompson, the noted gun enthusiast, would make of what is happening now. It is my hope that he would see how America and the NRA have gone off the collective nut. Why is the 2nd Amendment more important than the 1st, 4th, and 9th? Particularly the 9th which explicitly says that no single right in the constitution can be used to deny other rights. Obviously, the 2nd amendment is being used to deny 1st and 4th amendment rights. Who are the leaders of the current NRA? The ones making the fat pay checks and getting the perks from the gun companies? They call themselves Americans, but they are the type of bat-shit crazy Americans that H.S. Thompson used to write about, the ones like Nixon who represent “that dark, venal and incurably violent side of the American character that almost every country in the world has learned to fear and despise. (Nixon) our Barbie-doll president, with his Barbie-doll wife and his boxful of Barbie-doll children….” Jesus Christ, Trump is the reincarnation of Nixon. We are doomed, but let us go down telling the truth in the presence of monsters.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Duke. Good points. The 2nd amendment is a lost voice from the past that has been re-imagined badly. NRA membership began dropping after Sandy Hook so the leaders are not listening to their members, which doesn’t surprise me. The only thing they seem to care about is their political clout.

      Trump Barbies! I believe you’ve stumbled upon a winner. I was thinking of the Trumps more as the offspring of Troll dolls and Barbies. But maybe a new line of Mutant Barbies.

      We need to resurrect Thompson.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I know exactly what you re saying. Ban the gun that will help. Though nothing can eradicate the evil that lies in the hearts of some ‘Humans’ and they will always find a way to destroy and hurt!xxx

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I think at this point, we’ve been conditioned due to bad things happening. I see exactly where you’re coming from in this post. And the sad point, I’m really starting to blame Americans for what’s happening to them. 😦

    Liked by 2 people

  5. As Burroughs once dramatized to an interviewer: [He’s sitting there with a glass of water or vodka or whatever, on a sofa, with his insectile arms folded into his lap. Every now and then he reaches out for the glass and draws it back toward the papered skull of his face to sip the water with the razor slash of his mouth]. He’s a gun nut like HST and the interviewer asks him about the national gun problem, and without looking up he holds up the glass and says, I could disembowel you will this glass. Weapons are easy to come by, and always have been.

    Cars are great for mowing down crowds.

    The darkness in the human soul is inextinguishable.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Great story. I’ve heard similar boasts from gun owners but no one can disembowel 49 physically fit young men with a shard of glass without being stopped and perhaps beaten to death. Cars are good for mowing down people but that’s not why they were designed. Gun owners can’t really say that about semi automatic weapons. Well they can but then they sound even sillier than someone threatening disembowelment with a glass of vodka! I presume the interviewer also had a glass of something which he could break and they could have a glass shard fight! Ah the silly boasts of drunken writers – could be a blog post of its own!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

